Christmas Spirit and Memories

The Christmas Season is upon us once again. It is a time to share fond memories of when we were kids with seemingly not a care in the world. I can remember spending the holidays with family and friends, both in Canada and the United States. I recall Christmas in Florida where snow was just a dream. As parents to our own little rascals, do we still have the same feelings towards this great time of year? Lets share some of the memorable occasions, and maybe some of the ones we would rather forget. In my mind, I think it is a wonderful time to get together with family and friends to make new memories for my own husband and family. I look forward to hearing from all of you. So lets be creative. Sincerely, WonderMom

Comments
11 Responses to “Christmas Spirit and Memories”
  1. Mary Beth says:

    I have always loved Christmas for all that it is. I love how people are more firendly and the need to be around those that you love is strong.
    Our family tradition has been the same for as long as I can remember. On Christmas Eve we would spend the day taking care of the final touches, wrap the last of the presents and prepare for the big day. When we were younger we would go to bed early and my parents would wake us up later to take us to midnight mass. After mass, it was always special if it would snow the large fluffy flakes. Once we got home we would have hot chocolate, or festive drinks when we were older, and hors d’oeuvres. It was always a late night. Once we hit university age, our gathering would grow to include our friends too. Even now that I have my own children, we still try to get to mom and dads in the early hours of Christmas day for a quick visit and to reminisce about the “good old days”. It means so much to keep the old traditions going.
    I look forward to hearing what everyone else has to say! Merry Christmas!

  2. My hubby and I are trying to get pregnant, and of course that means that nearly everything triggers a discussion about “how we will do things.”
    We had a long talk the other night about Christmas, and Santa Claus, and St Nicholas, and the true meaning of Christmas, and what should we teach/encourage our child to believe.
    One thing we agreed on without question was that we would like to limit gifts from Santa Claus to one per child per year. We have no problem with people wanting to shower our child(ren) with lovely gifts, but I think it is important for our child(ren) to be able to show real gratitude to the giver, which is a lot easier when the giver is a tangible person, rather than just a concept.
    Another tradition we plan to start is choosing a number of toys from the current collection to be donated to those less fortunate after the new toys are unwrapped. There is such a thing as having too much stuff, and it would be an excellent opportunity to teach the value of generosity.
    Of course, the most important tradition we hope to continue is spending quality time with our extended family during that special time of the year.

  3. amotherworld says:

    For me, Christmas is all about the joy of giving and spending time with family. Giving doesn’t have to mean breaking the bank – it can be a simple token of love. A thoughtful gift. Like homemade cookies or donating toys and food.

    I don’t like to go overboard with presents for my kids either; I want them to appreciate. They can get spoiled from their grandparents 😉

    Christmas is about spending time with those you love. This year, my sister and her family are visiting – having my family all together is the best gift of all.

  4. Tiffany says:

    We celebrated our first Christmas Party this weekend with my Dad who was in town from Vancouver. We had an amazing dinner, my kids played with their cousins, and the adults talked and watched the Hockey Game. There was a definate sense of peace, and comfort in just being together. That night my Dad gave us the kids gifts to take home to open on Christmas. They didn’t know this.

    Then next day, my 6 year old said to me that she learned the meaning of Christmas. She said that we all got together, Grandpa repeatedly smothered them with kisses, and that all the cousins got along, and they didn’t fight. She said” and we didn’t get any presents, and you know what Mom, I didn’t care”. She said the best present was seeing her Grandpa, who she only gets to see 1or 2 times a year.

    I had been really stressed out thinking I was so far behind, but 6 year old really reminded me what it was all about.

    Last night my Dad called from Vancouver to say Thank you for a great night, and through is whole flight home that he had to hold back tears, because he REALLY missed the kids, and now Christmas won’t be the same this year.

    We should all remind ourselves that all they really want is to be loved and feel safe, so as much as they love gifts, and yes they will get some! That will be my promise to them this Christmas!!

  5. Great Post. For me, I learned the true meaning of Christmas the year I headed our local community college’s adopt-a-family. The greatest part was that my daughters got involved, too. I recently wrote a blog post about it, describing what we did and how it affected us and the families we helped.
    I Believe. http://writeandedit.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/i-believe/

  6. Kathleen says:

    There is just so much to do to prepare for Christmas… decorating, baking, menu planning, house cleaning, christmas card writing, gift shopping, parties etc…. and that’s on top of your regularly overwhelming to do list as a mother. This year I’ve had trouble getting motivated to start crossing Christmas to dos off my list.

    But the other day I was talking with my Mom about Christmas and she was telling me about how she was talking to a 50 some year old man who went on and on about his Christmas traditions as a child. And it was a reminder to both of us, that although it’s a lot of work as Mom, everything you do… the big and the small… is so worth it! You kids will treasure these memories for the rest of their lives. It’s not the gifts they will remember… well I do remember some very special gifts. It’s everything else. So with a one year old I’m getting ready to create memories and traditions of our own. My goal is to make Christmas not be just one day, and not just be about Santa coming. Here are some of the things we’ll be doing as a family around the holidays.

    25 days of Christmas… instead of a chocolate advent calendar, every day the children pick a fun activity. (google this and you’ll find lots of ideas on how and what to do). They can include: decorate your tree, watch a christmas movie, make christmas cookies, make a snow man (well maybe not this year;), go to the santa claus parade, have homemade oatmeal cookies and hot chocolate for breakfast…. The idea is that you spend time together… christmas shopping is not an activity.

    I really like the idea (and I’ve already read it in a comment) to have our children pick toys from their collection that they don’t play with and put them under the tree before Christmas, and Santa will take them away to give to other Children, and some shinny new ones will replace them.

    Traditions I remember as a child and hope to continue: getting to open one gift on christmas eve, stockings left by our bed so we could open them in my parents room while they woke up… santa always mixing something up in our stockings and my mom getting upset :)… watching for Santa in the sky, leaving reindeer treats on the grass, and cinnamon buns on Christmas morning.

    Merry Christmas everyone!

  7. CL says:

    the same as everyone else Christmas is about being with family for me. This year my in-laws will be coming and spending Christmas with us but I will miss waking up in my childhood home”the farm” with my family. Since my mom passed away I do all the baking for the farm and send it home. the other thing that i do is make my moms dressing. Even if I can’t make it to the farm it get FedEx’d if need be. They went one year without it and all 16 of them said never again.

    My children are 12 & 14 now and we’ve always limited their Santa gift. They were allowed to ask for 3 things each on their list. Santa would bring 2 and the rest of the gifts came from us and other family.

    The one tradition that we started is that I take each child individually to do grocery shopping for the food bank. The pride that get from delivering their groceries to the food bank is amazing and when they see all the food that is there they realize how fortunate we are.

    Anyway there is my little Christmas story.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family. I hope the season brings you all the smiles and lifelong memories that your heart can hold.

  8. Laurel says:

    Time Together – the joys of sharing laughter with my family, kids, hubby, my parents, brothers and their wives, and my neice.
    It’s not about the gifts we receive, it’s about the time we spend and having lost my mentor and great friend last Christmas, I recognize this more than ever – it’s about the time we spend together that really matters!

  9. Sharon says:

    I’ve found that having kids has brought back the magic of Christmas for me. Watching the excitement in their eyes as they wait in line to see Santa or how hard it is for them to go to bed on Christmas Eve and then their sleepy excited faces on Christmas mornings….it puts joy in my heart and let’s me relive a little of what it was like at Christmas when I was a kid.

  10. @iDream1 says:

    Christmas is a beautiful time of year. It is a time of year where everything just feels happier, even if it’s just for one day. Putting aside differences and showing how you care in celebration. Seeing childrens faces light up with excitement and feeling the warm glow when your spouse opens a gift for them, thoughtfulness of Christmas parties to get everyone together…it’s the best time of year.

  11. Sherri says:

    Christmas has always been a time of celebrating, visiting our LARGE extended family and eating until we wanted to vomit! As I have grown up (not that I want to admit that I am all “growed” up!) and have a family of my own, we are trying to instill the same feelings of family and celebrating all that we have been blessed with. We also use this time of year to help our children understand what it means to “want” and to “need”. This is a difficult concept, even for adults! We try to help those in need, especially children, and hope our children will continue to do this as they grow.

    Christmas is a magical time of year. My children truly enjoy seeing all the lights and decorating our own house with lights and Christmassy decorations. We also started a tradition of getting a real Christmas tree that we pick out all together, bring home and decorate as a family. It looks wonderful, gives us something to cherish and smells deliciously like Christmas.

    There are many traditions we have started with our children that we are hoping will become special to them. My 6 year old daughter is already asking about some of the traditions, melting our hearts every time! Hopefully my 2 year old will start to do the same soon! Another small tradition is that we give each child a new pair of pajamas on Christmas Eve. They get to wear them to bed and then be comfy opening presents! They have come to look forward to this surprise on Christmas Eve!

    So, in this time of hustle and bustle, let’s all take some time for love, family and helping those who need our help. Our children need to learn this so our community will continue to be one of sensitivity and care.

    Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a very Cheerful and prosperous New Year to all!

Leave a Reply

